Cannes Film Festival 2012 Jurors Announced

The jurors for this year’s Cannes Film Festival, who will choose the winner of the prestigious Palme d’Or prize, have officially been announced.

Cannes 2012 Ewan McGregor Jean Paul Gaultier Diane Kruger

It was revealed back in January of this year that Italian filmmaker, Nanni Moretti, would be overseeing the 2012 committee as president of the jury – a role which was filled last year by Robert De Niro.

Following the recent announcement of Cannes’ 2012 official selection of films, the eight other jury members have have now also been revealed. We’ve got two Brits on the panel: Scottish actor Ewan McGregor, who has recently been seen on screen in the film adapation of Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, and Andrea Arnold, the woman behind films such as Red Road and Fish Tank, which each won the Jury Prize at Cannes in 2006 and 2009 respectively.

Joining them will be German actress Diane Kruger, who is perhaps best known not her performance in Quentin Tarantino‘s Inglourious Basterds, as well as Palestinian actress and director, Hiam Abbass and award-winning Haitian director and political activist, Raoul Peck.

There will also be two jurors hailing from France: actress Emmanuelle Devos, who appeared alongside Audrey Tautou in the 2009 fashion film, Coco Before Chanel, as well as real-life fashion designer, Jean Paul Gaultier. Whilst Gaultier (in particular) may not seem like an obvious choice to preside over the film festival, Cannes’ artistic director Thierry Fremaux justified the decision, stating, “We have a tradition of inviting people who we know are cinephiles but who are not necessarily in cinema.”

Despite the fact that an American presence has been said to feature strongly throughout this year’s line-up, Alexander Payne (who most recently directed The Descendants) completes the jury as the only US member.

The festival is due to kick off on 16th May, opening with Wes Anderson’s latest offering, Moonrise Kingdom. This is also one of the 22 films which will be competing for this year’s Palme d’Or (take a look at the full official selection here) – we’ll keep you posted!


VN:F [1.9.13_1145]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)