Nominees and jury revealed for the Moët British Independent Film Awards

The nominations for the 14th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards were announced this Halloween. Recognising British talent in independent filmmaking, the awards have grown very popular in recent years and it is great to see that there is so much talent in Britain.

Anyone who doubted that the world of British films is thriving at the moment just has to look at the list of nominations to see that this is not the case. A wealth of talent is being recognised at this years awards, from firmly established names to new, breakthrough filmmakers. The films with the most nominations this year are Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Shame and Tyrannosaur. These three giants are competing with each other for several awards, including Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor or Actress, Best Director and the mighty Best British Film Award.

Starring Gary Oldman, Colin Firth and Tom Hardy, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is set during the bleak days of the Cold War. This tale of espionage is based on the 1974 novel by John le Carré. The film made its début at the 68th Venice International Film Festival and has met with great reviews. It has been nominated for a total of seven awards, including Gary Oldman for Best Actor and Tom Alfredson for Best Director.

The world of British films is proving that it can hold its own, with many other sparkling names gracing the list of nominees. Those put forward for the award of Best Actress include Tilda Swinton for her part in We Need To Talk About Kevin and Mia Wasikowska for her starring role in Jane Eyre. Fans of children’s stories will remember Wasikowska for her innocent part as Alice, in Alice in Wonderland. In 2010, she won the Hollywood Breakthrough Award at the Hollywood Film Festival, as Best Actress and is fast becoming one to watch.

Her co-star in Jane Eyre, Michael Fassbender, is nominated for Best Actor for his role in Shame. Other actors hoping to win this award are Brendan Gleeson (The Guard), Neil Maskell (Kill List) and Peter Mullan (Tyrannosaur). And that’s not all, there are many other prestigious honours up for grabs, including the Douglas Hickox Award for début directors. Those new talents who are venturing out into the directing scene include Joe Cornish with Attack The Block and Ralph Fiennes with Coriolanus.

Having worked with such talented directors as Steven Spielberg, Stephen Daldry and Kathryn Bigelow, it seems that Fiennes has got a taste of directing. He began shooting Coriolanus, a contemporary adaptation of the Shakespeare play, last March and managed to secure some big names for the cast. Gerard Butler, Vanessa Redgrave, Jessica Chastain, Brian Cox and James Nesbitt all feature in the story that is based on the life of the legendary Roman leader, Gaius Marcius Coriolanus. However, this is a strong category and only the final announcement will tell us who wins the Douglas Hickox Award.

To decide who will be the winners and who will leave empty-handed, there is a jury of professionals and respected talent which includes Director and writer Josh Appignanesi, broadcaster Edith Bowman, actor Ed Hogg and actress Ruth Wilson. We will find out what they have decided during the awards ceremony for The Moët British Independent Film Awards to be held on Sunday December 4th at the Old Billingsgate, London.

VN:F [1.9.13_1145]
Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
Nominees and jury revealed for the Moët British Independent Film Awards, 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings